New Royale 500 Accuracy

FX's latest models. The multishot Royale and the singleshot Elite

New Royale 500 Accuracy

Postby Crusher75061 on Sun Sep 03, 2017 12:42 am

I'm wondering about my Royale 500. I know, everyone says "clean the barrel". I haven't yet. But I want to see if anyone has any idea besides me taking the gun apart and cleaning the barrel like new.
This gun is deadly accurate for about 5 or 6 shots. Then 2 or 3 fliers. But the fliers hit in exactly the same spot if I hold the original POA. After a few shots, right back to the orginal POI. ????????? Then maybe 10-12 shots, then again I get a POI shift. Then, back to the original spot.

I could understand if I get a flier now and then. That is part of the game. I just don't get what is happening here. My JSB 25 gr were shooting in the mid 900's which I figured might be too fast. Although I still got dead accurate shots for several in a row, then a POI shift. Then back to normal. ugh..
I switched to my Barracuda's at 31.02 which slowed things down to the 850-860's. Still very same issue.

This is a new gun btw.

Here is a shot string just for grins with the Barracuda 31.02 gr.

1 846 220 bar
2 853
3 850
4 852
5 855
6 852
7 849
8 851
9 856
10 855
11 844 205 bar
12 854
13 854
14 851
15 856
16 862
17 861
18 858
19 858
20 857
21 857
22 852 190 bar
23 850
24 869
25 860
26 858
27 869
28 854
29 858
30 861
31 862
32 862
33 840 176 bar
34 854
35 852
36 853
37 847
38 857
39 855
40 853
41 856
42 857
43 857 165 bar
44 833
45 856
46 853
47 857
48 854
49 854
50 853
51 852
52 859
53 860
54 856 151 bar
55 851
56 854
57 851
58 865
59 861
60 866
61 858
62 859
63 870
64 877
65 867 140 bar
66 857
67 867
68 868
69 868
70 875
71 865
72 871
73 871
74 865
75 871
76 867
77 862 130 bar
78 864
79 855
80 861
81 856
82 843
83 840
84 838
85 814
86 818
87 820 120 bar
88 884 Must have dropped off the reg here or something @ 120 Bar

Thanks for reading.

Crusher
Crusher75061
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2017 8:13 am

Re: New Royale 500 Accuracy

Postby Crusher75061 on Mon Sep 04, 2017 1:44 am

OK, looks like I''m sending the gun back to AoA. Bummer. I wanted to take it with me this weekend out of town to "play".

[sad face]

Crusher
Crusher75061
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2017 8:13 am

Re: New Royale 500 Accuracy

Postby cyclone sniper on Thu Sep 07, 2017 11:37 am

i would change the scope first !!!!!
FX cyclone .22 FAC,
cyclone sniper
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 12:10 pm
Location: co Offaly Ireland EIRE

Re: New Royale 500 Accuracy

Postby Crusher75061 on Fri Sep 08, 2017 6:00 am

I went through the gun from top to bottom and checked everything. I had removed the scope to put on another just to be sure it was the gun. While I had the scope off I checked every single screw to be sure it was tight. When I got the ones on top (under the scope), I checked the 2 that hold the barrel and then went to the one nearest the breech. It was LOOSE! I tightened it snug and put the second scope on. All the inaccuracy issues were gone. So I put the Hawke Sidewinder back on and it is a one hole gun now.

So from the factory the breech screw was loose. I think it might have backed itself out somehow. I removed and inspected it and the hole and I see some Loctite substance in there. I didn't Loctite it again. I just snugged it up and I'll check it again after a few hundred rounds and see if it moves. however at this point, I think it is problem solved.

Crusher
Crusher75061
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2017 8:13 am


Return to FX Royale/Elite

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron